Am I a *Karen*? #SOLSC24 17/31

Numerous places overpopulate my weather app, which is the source of my most riveting reading the past couple weeks as *spring* break nears.

When Mother Nature raised her middle storm cloud as though to say, You know what happens to the best laid plans of mice and men, we decided to pivot our plans.

Saturday afternoon.

I cancelled the resort I’d booked in Sedona after realizing heading south might mean driving into a spring snowstorm. No thank you! I’ve have my fill of snow.

I suggested to Ken—weather permitting—we drive further south into the desert heat. I further suggested we not book lodging in advance and take our chances.

Reader, if you’ve traveled the past few years, you know my plan is the definition of living dangerously. A failure to plan travel stops might result in a disappointing vacation, but since we’ve visited Sedona together, albeit over twenty years ago, and since I lived in Arizona six years long ago, and since we’re road-tripping, and since I have a cousin in Clarkdale, I’m comfortable winging it.

Saturday we headed down I-15, not yet having finalized our route. Would we drive through Page, Arizona or through Las Vegas.

We chose Las Vegas. I checked the Hilton app for lodging. I also checked the Wyndom app, and Hotels [dot] com, which I no longer like after changes in the awards program took effect last year.

Las Vegas’s latest thing, the Sphere.

I found a place off the Strip we like when passing through Sin City, but the price looked a little high. I decided to book directly with the hotel. I should have remembered caveat emptor when the hotel site did not provide a final price before completing the booking. When the receipt popped up, the charge was over forty dollars more than Hotels [dot] com.

I decided to *speak to the manager* upon arrival, which is why I ask, Am I a Karen?

At the front desk I gave my name and said, At the risk of sounding like a Karen and proceeded to explained how I’d looked on that site I’ve mentioned twice above and decide to book directly with the hotel only to be charged more than on the aforementioned site.

Our room at this off the Strip gem w/ free parking, huge rooms, and near the Vegas High Roller.

Upon further investigation, the associate told me I was wrong. She, of course, did not use those exact words, but after she told me the charge I realized I’d misread the notification. Even I can do THAT math, thank you very much.

The associate also said, You’re not a Karen. That’s a whole other vibe.

20 thoughts on “Am I a *Karen*? #SOLSC24 17/31”

  1. I like your adventurous spirit…you go where the wind takes you! 😉

    BTW…I totally agree with you (Hotels [dot] com, which I no longer like after changes in the awards program took effect last year.)! I used to be a HUGE fan of Hotels.com, but now it doesn’t really seem worth it. Instead of 10 nights = 1 free night, each night earns me a couple of bucks. It’s rubbish!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “A whole other vibe.” Oh, the precision of our modern phrasing! Not-a-Karen venturing out into the not-entirely-unknown yet eventually knowable terrain of spontaneous room booking – there’s suspense, a bit of humor, plus an engaging hook. Glad I tuned in.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just having the concern that you are BEING one…is the sign that you’re self-aware enough NOT to be one! And then the willingness to accept your mistake is sign #2.

    Here’s hoping your time in Las Vegas is a good one!

    Like

  4. Glenda, that last line gets me! I’m laughing, because sometimes I also wonder whether I am a Karen. I have those tendencies from time to time. I have a daughter who lives in Henderson and works on the strip. She has been telling me about The Sphere and urging me to come out there. I want so much to fly out and spend time with her – she tells me the hiking is the thing I would love most, right out through the desert in her back yard. I love your spirit of adventure in seeing all these places and your plan being the definition of living dangerously has me chuckling. Yes, Glenda – – but your plan is LIVING, and embracing all that life has to offer. Even on the edge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kim, lots of people fly u to Vegas, rent a car to explore the red rock canyon area, which is gorgeous, drive through the parks (Grand Canyon, Zion, Bryce, Canyonlands, and Capital Reef. Then they fly home from Salt Lake City. You can actually do this in a week, and most years spring break is ideal for it because it’s not too hot. You should make a plan to do this.

      Like

  5. I have to believe that just talking to a manager to voice a confusion or even a complaint is not a bad thing… It sounds like you were polite and kind about it!

    I am actually a fan of this kind of travel … get in the car, drive … figure it out as you go! I did much of my trip across country with my kids a couple years ago this way! We were gone for about 3 weeks, and many of the places we went and stayed were figured out just a day or two in advance. I love it! I hope you ended up having a fabulous time!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Glenda, wow, your room looks spacious! I love your voice in this post and the clerk’s response to your comment about perhaps being a Karen. Okay, now I need to know what a Karen his. I’ve heard of Debbie Downer, but I’m not sure who Karen is supposed to represent. I can imagine not wanting to drive into a snowstorm. We’re traveling west at the end of April and I’m worried about doing the same thing because snow out there is so unpredictable.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It can be a fine line between advocating for our rights and asserting ourselves appropriately, and going into that realm of assumed privilege. I lov e how you were super self-aware, and I especially love how the clerk assured you, ‘that’s a whole other vibe.’ Great line! I’m guessing they’re expert at it…

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I think the fact that you are concerned about being one eliminates the possibility of being one. You are not uncaring and privileged, you are seeking clarification on a hotel room rate. That is what one does when traveling, I think. Enjoy your spontaneous trek!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh my, I was smiling my way through this and I can see how you might be concerned about the stereotype, but “that’s a whole other vibe” is the evidence that you are the farthest from this! Love the photos and I’m in such admiration of your ability to tell a story with humour and honesty. Enjoy your get away with Ken!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Glad you got to Las Vegas with no hitches! As far as Karen goes I always have a problem with that reference because one of my dearest friends is named Karen, so I often change the reference to Debbie and hope I don’t offend anyone!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Glad it worked out. I agree heading to heat over snow is a great idea. You don’t sound like a “Karen” just checking the facts. We are can miss some information at times. Enjoy your spring break.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Glenda, great photo of this fabulous room. I’m glad you got a good price, and that you followed through. I love that the associate assured that you weren’t being a Karen–“That’s a whole other vibe.” Good!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Harumph. I feel your concern, but I *hate* the framing of being a Karen. It’s not lost on me that, after its initial use to call out white women who use their privilege to harm others, usually based on race, it has become a phrase used to make women who speak up and/or ask questions feel that they may be in the wrong. GRRR. Of course you should be able to politely ask about the pricing. I’m really glad you did – and glad that the employee knew you weren’t a Karen.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’m sorry you wound up with a higher bill than expected. Raising and issue like that would only make you a Karen if you raised it in a rude and/or microaggressive way, which I’m pretty sure you would never do! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment