Feeding My Wanderlust #SOLSC24 14/31

Each March I look forward to Aggie’s photo montage year in review.

Wednesday afternoon I canceled our spring break travel plans. Our original destination doesn’t look as appealing on my weather app as it did a couple months ago when I began planning.

We are pivoting to Plan B and moving further south at the beginning of our roadtrip and heading to our original destination at the end of our journey.

Today I’m taking a page out of Aggie’s book and sharing some photos from our year in travel, March 2023 through February 2024.

Close to home for the Pocatello car show and to honor the spirit of road trips.
Las Vegas
Death Valley to escape the cold last April.
Shoshone Falls near Twin Falls, ID
North Cascades National Park
Capilano suspension bridge
Vancouver BC gas light
Lincoln Memorial I-80
Willa Cather childhood home Red Cloud, NE
World’s largest ball of twine, KS
Brown vs. Board of Education school and National Historic site
Carthage Missouri Civil War battleground
60th anniversary dinner after party for Uncle Mike and Aunt Sherry
George Washington Carver Nat Monument, Diamond, MO

Art. 66 car museum, Springfield, MO
Giant fork Springfield, MO
Nelson-Atkinson Museum, Kansas City, MO
K.C. Royals game.
Coffee w/ Danielle our friend we met on our Thailand trip.
Wizard of Oz Museum, KS
World’s largest Czech egg, KS.
Dwight D. Eisenhower home in KS.
London
Canterbury Cathedral
Big Ben
Prime Meridian, Greenwich, England
Stonehenge
Roman Baths, Bath, England
Cotswold village
Stratford on Avon
Liverpool, Beatles
Lake District
Lake District
Pack bridge
Edinburgh Castle
Palace of Hollyrood House
Queen Elizabeth’s yacht Britannia.
St. Andrews
Glams Castle (I think)
Highland Cow in Scotland
Sterling Castle
The Kelpies in Scotland
Mt. Hood.
Multnomah Falls
Idaho mountains aglow in fall colors.
Running of the sheep, Sun Valley, Idaho,
Shoshone-Bannock Dancers at Fy. Hall during the Western Literature Conference. This is a few miles from my home, but I wanted to include these amazing dancers in this post.
At the Book Loft in Columbus, Ohio during NCTE
Caldwell, Idaho Christmas light show.
Near Lava Hot Springs, Idaho
Captain Cook Monument, Big Island Hawaii
Lava tube Volcanos National Park Hawaii
Night manta ray snorkel Hawaii
Hawaii
Poetic response to travel.

19 thoughts on “Feeding My Wanderlust #SOLSC24 14/31”

  1. Glenda – I love all these photos. I haven’t been west in a decade and now I’m getting wanderlust to take a roadtrip again! For some reason what objects stood out for me was the giant ball of twine, the giant fork, and the enormous egg. What does that say about me?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe you appreciate the kitschy roadtrip American as I do. I’ve made that trip across Kansas many times and had to find new IG points of interest to entertain myself.

      Like

  2. Quite a collection! I have never been to those places in the US, but have been to several of your UK sites. The world is such a beautiful place and you take great photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You traveled A LOT last year!! Thanks for sharing…it was so fun to see your trips. Your photo of Big Ben is stunning! I laughed at the cow with the Justin Bieber hairdo! 😀 It seems like you saw tons of history on your travels. Well done with your year in photos review. I laughed out loud when I read your typo on the call to slices- “rear in review”! hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did sit on my rear four hours going through and uploading photos. I left out many stops along our journeys. And I know you saw my second type. Oy! 🤦‍♀️🤣

      Like

  4. I am glad I pulled this one up on the computer screen so I could see the photos in all their glory. You sure do make retirement look like a lot of fun. I also notice that there’s an awful lot in KS – and since my sister lives there, I’m wondering if maybe I need to take the kids & visit again this summer.

    Like

  5. Oh, Glenda, you’ve just served me a quintuple helping of travel fever – resfeber, the excitement even before the travel begins. You know I’ll start planning a trip now. I see the swan and recognize that from Leeds from the postcard you sent, and I love that highland cow. The running of the sheep has me wanting to see this in person. I love that instead of bulls they have sheep – – a lot safer, eh? And probably more entertaining. You inspire me to want to go, go, go and embrace the world and culture and food and fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I was mesmerized by your beautiful photographs. I totally enjoyed them. I will go upstairs now for the night, happy to have finished up my day down here with your beautiful photos. Your photo of Stonehenge and Bath brought me right back to being there in 1979. I hope to get to Liverpool one day as I am a very big Beatles fan. Also to the Cotswalds and Scotland and so much more. Just beautiful photos. Oh I guess that I am more tired than I realize bc I meant to say even earlier that you showed me so many places that whet my appetite to visit in Idaho and Kansas and Missouri! Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment