It May or May Not Be My Mother’s Birthday #SOLSC24 13/31

As a child, teen, and adult when the calendar page flipped to March I began thinking about my mother’s birthday, which was either March 10 or March 13 or some other day unbeknownst to her.

It’s not choosing the gift that stumped me. Nor did I struggle to remember the day. After all, my mom offered two possible days for her birth.

Some years she’d say, “My birthday isn’t until March 13” when I produced a gift or called with a Happy Birthday greeting on March 10.

Other years mom sulked when I called on March 13 to say Happy Birthday. “Why did you wait until today to call instead of calling on my birthday?” she’d ask.

“You told me last year your birthday is March 13,” I’d respond.

“I did not.”

“Yes you did.”

“No I didn’t. Don’t you think I know my own birthday?”

No way could I win the argument, and boy did my mother love to fight and argue.

Which is why after years of wondering exactly which day really is mom’s birthday I’ve decided both days might be wrong, and some other day might be the one my grandmother’s womb spit my mom into the world.

After drafting this post, I decided to call my sister.

Gaylene, do you know the date of mom’s birthday?

It’s in March.

I know that it’s in March, but I don’t know the exact date. Do you?

No. She always said it was one day, and her birth certificate said another day.

What day does her birth certificate say.

I don’t know.

There you have it, friends. My mother’s daughters have no clue when in March her birthday is. I suppose it doesn’t matter much now since she’s dead. Don’t ask me that date. I’ll need to ask my brother if he remembers. I already know my sister does not.

Maybe Google will know.

Update: When Greg arrived home from work, I asked if he knows when mom died. His response: Nope.

We really aren’t horrible children. There is a prequel to this birthday story, a complicated one, and I know exactly where mom is. She’s in a gold box on a shelf keeping my brother company in the basement.

11 thoughts on “It May or May Not Be My Mother’s Birthday #SOLSC24 13/31”

  1. Oh my, this is such a fun post! I love the way you updated the slice after your conversations with your siblings. And you have definitely piqued my interest in the prequel to this birthday story, perhaps a story for another day?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glenda, your honest voice her is striking and I can completely relate to the closing. Your use of dialogue clearly shows the situation. I’m intrigued to read your sequel.

    Like

  3. Complicated mom stories…I’ve got a few too! 🙂

    I have some friends – we’ve known each other 33 years! – who can never remember my birthday is the 15th of October. In the beginning I tried to correct them, but then it became fun for me to wonder when they would remember. They never forgot, exactly, but I never knew which day we’d be celebrating. LOL

    Like

  4. Oh my goodness, this was unexpected! That line from your sister, “She always said it was one day, and her birth certificate said another day” – my brother-in-law (Tony’s brother) has a similar story, and we wish him well both days every year. I certainly can relate to mixed up, complicated stories about parents, oh my. Wonderful post, Glenda!

    Like

  5. The authenticity of this story comes from the unexpected and when looking back when records were open to error, I realize that I’ve been spelling my name differently than is recorded on my birth certificate (they made the spelling error and I refuse to submit to that legal document). I hope you write the “complicated” prequel to this fascinating story (love the use of dialogue here!).

    Like

  6. Glenda, there is a golden ray of humor all throughout this post. I can’t help imagining a woman in labor three days and all of those days a new part of the baby appeared. This is so fascinating to me that she didn’t share her exact date of birth. I was going to ask what’s on the headstone, and then I remembered – – she’s down in the basement keeping your brother company. And that, too, is such a neat story all on its own. You have me chuckling with all those cupcakes too.

    Like

  7. Wow, Glenda. I enjoyed reading this and I had so many wonderings. You chose your words carefully, like that there was a “prequel” and the story was “complicated.” Your post reminded me of Melanie White’s post here https://reflectingonrecreation.com/2024/03/10/endings-10-31-sol2024/
    I was intrigued by the description of Hemingway’s Iceberg Theory. I felt like this was a good example of “tell[ing] part of the story, while deeper meanings remain unspoken but implied.” So I’m feeling the Hemingway-vibe in your post.

    Like

  8. Oh, that is quite a story. Of course, if she had two possible birthdays then you could never get it right. Sigh. This is one reason I am glad to have siblings: when our parents do things that seem insane, we turn to each other to confirm the insanity. Both of my parents are still living, however, so most of my stories will have to wait. Until then, I’ll be hoping for your prequel.

    Like

Leave a comment