Dribble #SOLSC24 30/31

Last night I laid my head on my pillow and heard an echo, the sound of basketballs smacking a gym floor, each searching for net, some kissing orange rims, many slapping the rim and rejecting the invitation to swoosh through the net before smacking the ground in a disappointing thud.

Yesterday I listened to the cacophony of orange globes hurling and swirling, twirling and floating in a sort of basketball scavenger hunt with one objective—to find net and sink balls into the basket.

Balls awaiting bouncing and their turn at the basket.

The eclectic collection of students in the gym looked more like a group gathering for a pick-up-game than an organized class. The uniform only required students to be fully clothed. One roundballer wore a backpack. Two sat the *bench* and told me they had doctors’ notes. I offered to help them with English.

This scene played out in a loop four times, the metaphorical four quarters in a game; only this time each quarter lasted 75 minutes X 4.

Storage are w/ four abandoned balls.

During the first quarter several players abandoned the team, aka class. I, the substitute coach, did not find them in the locker room, so I sent an email alert.

During the second quarter a ball whizzed past my head, landed on the table behind me, bounced twice, miraculously missing my coffee mug and water bottle, and fell to the floor.

Don’t worry about it. I told two boys whose faces read: Panic.

I’m rather glad that happened because it gives me something to write about.

Halftime arrived in the guise of third period, and I retired temporarily to the coach’s lounge.

Resuming play in the third quarter, aka fourth period, three boys asked if I wanted to join them in Bobsledding. After explaining I don’t know what that is and learning it’s three on three, and after divulging what a terrible athlete I am and telling the young ballers to kick me off the team, I trotted onto the court.

I missed numerous shots, chased a ball and slid to my knees after tripping. I sunk one basket, but only because the boys let me shoot until the ball dropped through the hoop. I lasted a few minutes before remembering I’m 65. I hope no one has video!

I was ready for the final quarter, fifth period. The largest team arrived. A couple boys helped me with the roster. I took a seat at the officiator’s table where I planned to read poetry and didn’t see the ball knock my water bottle to the floor.

Reaching from my feet to the table, the area my water bottle watered.

The bottle was open and sprayed water across a large area. After standing and guarding the spill fifteen minutes while awaiting a custodian, a female player said she saw a mop. Before I could stop her, she began mopping water with one of those giant brooms used to sweep gym floors.

Oh well. We agreed the broom will dry.

I survived the day in Boys’ PE! Score!

And as quickly as the thumping had begun, a muted hush fell over the gym signaling five minutes remaining in the period, so the players headed for the locker room, leaving only a squeak from noisy sneakers and an occasional quiet voice as evidence they had been here, players in this game we call school.

14 thoughts on “Dribble #SOLSC24 30/31”

  1. Oh, Glenda, what a delight. I love the way you fashioned this into four quarters and told a bit about each. Your sense of humor always shines when you spent time with students, and they obviously appreciate it. I can just watch the orb go in when I read, “twirl swirl – pause – catch net” Beautiful poem and graphic!

    Like

  2. Oh, this is wonderful! I love how you structured the day like a game, each part with its own drama. That final poem, both words and imagery, is a wowzer! Honestly, though, I think the most amazing thing to me is that you agreed to sub PE and joined in the game! EEK! I’d have run for the hills!

    Like

  3. The imagery in the words of the slice, coupled with the pictures and the structure make this Slice a delight to read! I am, always, in awe of how you are also able to capture the essence of the slice in the poem at the end. Truly wonderful!

    Like

  4. Whether you are working or out traveling, your adventure awaits. It’s like it is a mantra, a creed, a quest – whether it follows you or you follow it, adventure is where you are. Right in the thick of a boys’ basketball game with a ball whizzing past your head, narrowly missing your drink. And a poem inspired by these moments…..this game we call school. Orbed cacophony – – so, so much to love here!

    Like

  5. I am awed by you joining them on the court! So, so fun of you – you’ve got game! This is such an awesome line – “I’m rather glad that happened because it gives me something to write about.” hahaha Truly, this was ‘orbed cacophony’ – love those two words together. Coincidentally, I wrote about my favorite basketball player today.

    Like

  6. You are a BRAVE human! I enjoyed the play by play in this riveting retelling. Such creative expression at play here. Awesome read, Glenda! Teachers everywhere are thanking their lucky stars to have subs like you.

    Like

  7. Fran, I enjoyed not only this story, but the elements of sight and sound you so cleverly embedded in this piece. During the short period that I subbed, I only once had a middle-school gym class. Like you, I’m no athlete. It was a tough day. Glad you remained unscathed.

    Like

  8. Sounds like a very hectic but fun day. It’s great to see the joy many students have for playing basketball or other games. Love your poem! I can hear the lovely thrill of the net swish!

    Like

  9. Love it! Boys’ gym – you are a brave substitute. I love that you played with them for a while & that they let you shoot until you scored – probably my favourite moment here. I also love that you turned this into four quarters, complete with half time – so clever. Finally, in your poem, the phrase “orbed cacophony” is brilliant. Wow.

    Like

Leave a comment