Antiquated #SOLSC24 26/31

The phone rang. I noticed the call because my watch notified me. Caller i.d. informed me it’s Val, my district’s substitute teacher coordinator.

Correction: I have the sub system in my contacts as Substitute Calling System (Val).

It’s an antiquated system begging to be replaced, but I answered the phone since experience has taught me a couple things: 1. The job offer might be for someone who needs a sub more than one day; 2. The job offer might not be for tomorrow.

This is the Pocatello-Chubbuck substitute calling system calling for Glenda Funk.

I heard my own voice say my name.

The system asked me to enter two numbers. One is my access number. I don’t remember what the other one is called, but I do remember the order. The first number is seven digits long, so I use my phone number for that one. The second number is six digits, so I use my area code and the prefix to my phone number for it.

I try to enter these quickly to avoid having to listen to a long message.

Once I’ve entered the numbers, I get a message:

We have a substitute job available. To listen to the job offer, press one. To decline this job, press three.

If you’re wondering how I can possibly know whether or not I know whether or not I want to decline the job before hearing the job, that’s a good question for which I have no answer.

I always press one.

A recording tells me who the job is for, the grade level or subject, and the school. Some teachers leave special instructions, usually where to park, and I decide whether or not to accept or decline the job. I press one to accept and three to decline.

If I accept the job I’m given a job number and instructed to write it down because I may need it upon my arrival. I never need it upon my arrival. The secretary has it.

If I decline the job I’m required to give a reason for saying NO. I have five options:

1. Illness

2. Illness of family member

3. Out of town

4. ? I’m having a memory lapse and can’t remember number four.

5. Personal business

Providing a reason is my least favorite part of this ritual. I hate it because I am not on contract, and even teachers on contract aren’t required to give a reason for their absences.

Here’s the thing: If I don’t provide a reason for declining a job the system will call me again with the same job offer. It’s as ridiculous as it sounds.

Yes, I’ve complained about this antiquated system. To Val, the sub clerk. And to my district’s superintendent whom I know from his time as a VP in my school. I also taught his son.

Still, I answered the phone when the call arrived Sunday evening. I listened to the job offer and my finger automatically selected one, informing me I’d be spending Monday in middle school ELA.

I questioned the sanity of agreeing to sub on a Monday following a long break, but I often feel guilty for saying NO, and by saying YES, I’m spared the menu of reasons for saying NO.

After receiving the job number and not writing it down, I texted my friend Debbie,who is the VP at the school where I’d be hanging out with sixth graders Monday:

The classroom teacher was in her room when I arrived Monday morning. She was glad to see me, and I had a good day despite the kid who said my gray hair made him mistake me for Ms. C.

Biggest challenge Monday: Trying to detangle this mess. I failed.

After all, gray hair marks me as antiquated, just like the out-of-date calling system.

17 thoughts on “Antiquated #SOLSC24 26/31”

  1. Oooo, Glenda! You ask me why I’m commenting at 12:36am EST? I cannot sleep and I see that you are the 1st one to post! I love your antiquated post – how it describes the phone system, the substitute call in, the annoying kid’s comment, and the tangle of headphone wires. Your ending is pitch perfect! PS – The Mary Oliver quote is painted on my office wall, so every time I look up, I remind myself of what is important in my life. Teaching kids is still number one – gray hair and all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glenda, I like your gray hair look. It is very becoming on you. Several ladies in my community were bold enough to let their color fade out during the pandemic. We laugh when my white roots peek out of my dark hair. It would be a disaster if I let the white grow out. Good luck with your future subbing. I never got involved because when I retired the county educational community asked me to consult with teachers and school districts throughout Long Island. It was fun and I was told in advance when I was needed. Early mornings are not the best time to contact since I am still half groggy. Have a great week.

    Like

  3. Sounds like some sixth graders need schooling in what is gray and what is strands of sterling silver wisdom. Your hair is gorgeous – I wish my silver were shiny – it’s not, it’s mousey matte. Bless you for subbing after break. I know you relieved a teacher who has peace of mind her class is in good hands! We had the Subfinder system back in tbe 90s and it sounded like Val.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh gosh, that system does sound like it’s in need of a major upgrade! I wonder why they don’t have an app or at least an email to contact subs. Your description was spot-on and I felt like I was the one receiving the call. Glad it went well!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It was fun (vicariously) to go through the whole rigmarole with you, but I can definitely feel how infuriating it would be to do that on a regular basis. Lucky kids to get you in as a sub!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I enjoyed this post and learning how truly antiquated the sub calling system is. I now wonder what our district’s sub system is like. The picture of tangled cords is symbolic of the antiquated system. And I agree with Kim about the 6th grader being clueless about “sterling silver wisdom.” This line made me chuckle, “I questioned the sanity of agreeing to sub on a Monday following a long break..” As a middle school teacher, I’m so glad you pressed Yes.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post describing a clearly out dated system that I remember from 10 years ago or so in my area! Your picture clearly sums up the school district; however, your clear and funny posts suggests you are anything BUT antiquated. I hope they more to a better computer based system in your area soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I subbed for a short time back in 1990, so this post sounded familiar. Ugh! Can’t believe how antiquated. Recently, my niece applied as a sub and was telling me that all she has to do is go online, look at the jobs and chose the one she wants. Sounds wonderful. My strongest memory of subbing was the phone ringing around 5:00AM all the time. Often, I’d forget to let them know I wasn’t available on a particular day. You can imagine how my family loved that system. Thanks for the laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I enjoyed your descriptions of what you have to go through to take a job. You’d think they would want to make it easier for subs.

    We must have the same calling system! However, we also have an online option, so I “turned off” the calling and use the online program to schedule my subbing days. This way I can see who, what, when & where before I agree! The only time we have to give a reason for NOT taking a job is if we put days in as “non-work days”. I use appointment or busy, as it is none of their business.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love your deep dive into this antiquated system and I seriously think there should be a #6 reason for not accepting the job, which is simply “I’m having a memory lapse and can’t remember ” – your #4 made me chuckle and I think it should be a reason that is always in my pocket, at my age. Kudos to you for being a sub; I have no doubt that your school loves having you. I rather like the term “guest teacher,” which I’ve seen on a couple blogger’s slices; I hadn’t heard that before this spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Goodness that’s an old system! I think ours is done entirely using an app, and I KNOW it doesn’t ask them why they’ve declined. (Insert face palm emoji here!) They need a few more options, like “Gone fishing” or “No way, Jose!”

    I remember subbing before I got my first teaching job almost 30 years ago and I vowed I’d never sub. BLESS YOU!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. We have something similar here, but I’ve never been on the receiving end of a call. I do know that if they don’t give a reason, and if they decline too many offers, their name is removed from the list.Substitute teaching here is quite different! One must be a certified teacher to take a job, and it’s the only way to get a reference from at least two principals which are required when applying for permanent jobs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m all for certified teachers being the only subs. Sadly, that’s not reality here. All one needs is a high school equivalency and a background check. My district doesn’t even pay certified teachers more.

      Like

  13. I had to read this — wondering what the system was — and your slice did not disappoint. What a crazy system. When I first started teaching there was a sub caller .. like an actual person. It was a very strange system. I subbed after I graduated and it took forever for the sub caller to start calling me … I think she had her favorites…

    Anyway, I loved reading about this system… Makes me think how we need to write down the systems as a record or something.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Whoa – that system is wild. I bet the “give a reason” part is designed to play on retired teachers’ guilt. The powers that be know how we operate: easier to say yes than to figure out how to excuse our no… Glad that the teacher on jury duty got to have you cover her classes. Bet she was relieved; I know I would be.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Glenda, so funny. I love the double use of antiquated. I am sure that my late 90’s stint of substituting in Arizona used a similar program to staff schools in the Peoria U.S.D. That is one antiquated system–nothing nice about it, like your beautiful hair.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment