Skywalkers #SOLSC24 24/31

We’re doing the Skywalk. Ken announced as I exited the restroom at Grand Canyon West on the Hualapai Reservation.

Okay. Whatever you want, I said.

Until Friday evening the Skywalk had been at the top of our *to do* list for our spring break roadtrip, but last night Ken made a discovery that nearly derailed our plans.

Did you know they won’t let you take a cell phone or camera onto the Skywalk? You’re paying all that money and can’t even take a photo to commemorate the memory. That pisses me off.

After some discussion we decided we’d drive to Grand Canyon West and only look at the canyon.

So what changed Ken’s mind? Good old fashioned cost/benefit analysis.

General admission to Grand Canyon West is $57.00 dollars. Add in the skywalk and admission is $78.00. Might as well do the skywalk, too, given the price difference, right? That was Ken’s reasoning.

Of course the website is incorrect.

We paid the fee, headed to the bus line, road the bus to Eagle’s Point, made a beeline to the Skywalk, loaded our phones, my purse, and my water bottle into a locker, slipped on shoe covers, and walked onto the Skywalk.

If you’ve read this far, you know the cost of admission is worth every penny, and after viewing the canyon from the Skywalk, we both agreed the no cell phone or camera rule makes perfect sense.

Can you imagine defiling this amazing place with selfie sticks, ball caps, or cell phones?

Let this be our prayer:

Peace and nature’s blessings to all in this amazing community.

13 thoughts on “Skywalkers #SOLSC24 24/31”

  1. It is interesting in the time of digital devices to have a full experience without taking photos. Yet, then you are fully present and later you know that the memories that surface are your own.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes I realize that I fill my phone with images that I may or may not ever look at again. But, by focusing on filming or photographing the scene, I miss the experience of the scene. Your post is a wonderful reminder of the need to just be present.

    The trip looks wonderful, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glenda, what a beautiful view! Yes, I think the no camera and cell phone rule is as much to force folks into the majestic power of the moment as it is about defiling the place. I love the land ethic statement at the end as well. This is what I worry about more and more – even more than I should – is the constant development and need for preservation. Thank you for sharing your photos so we could join you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I suspect there are some who find ways to sneak technology into the experience in spite of the rules. Yet, having climbed up and down the majestic canyon, I agree that no technology is needed. It is a full body and mind experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Truly beautiful. I have been to the Grand Canyon twice – once as a child and once as an adult. I have never been to Skywalk. Wow! Our country is truly beautiful! I love the quote at the end – always be thankful. Yes – always be thankful. What a wonderful adventure you are having!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Glenda, wow, your photography is stunning, and I enjoyed reading your decision making about going to the skywalk. I’ve never heard of this. I’m definitely putting Senora and the Grand Canyon skywalk on my bucket list.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Honestly, I am so glad that they are keeping this place sacred from modern technologies. Asking visitors to be mindful and present to experience the sheer awesomeness surrounding them doesn’t happen often in our current times. So glad you chose to experience this- now your mind had a photo of nature’s stunning beauty to keep with you always.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. “Can you imagine defiling this amazing place with selfie sticks, ball caps, or cell phones?” – truly, gorgeous! And a gorgeous prayer to close your slice with. We have not yet made it to the Grand Canyon – we will, we will, we will. So exquisite! You had a gorgeous clear day for viewing. Wonderful, Glenda!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maureen, Start making a plan. Fly into Las Vegas and rent a car. You can visit the Grand Canyon and all five Utah National Parks in a week. Spring is the best time to come as it’s not too cold or hot. March through May. I’ve been to the South rim of the canyon many times. It’s gorgeous, too, but it’s also busier. Fly out of Salt Lake City.

      Like

  9. I was thinking this might make sense since the park rangers don’t want a cell phone graveyard in the canyon directly beneath the sky walk! I have only been to the Grand Canyon once and it was a long time ago. Your posts have made me realize I need to go again!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Glenda, the Grand Canyon is a memorable place to visit. I was awed by what surrounded me and yet unsure of walking straight up to the edge.I passed on the skywalk because a) I was scared and b) I was the camera taker. Your photo are gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I am so touched by the way this slice ends with such reverence. You skillfully navigate the reader through sharing your emotions, from being pissed off, to sticker shock, to realizing why the rule exists and then, your humble offering – such a lovely and incredibly beautiful read for a Sunday afternoon.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Glenda, I love the transition you make from being “pissed off” at not being able to take your camera to the end when you both realized it was the right decision. I found myself agreeing with you too. Your post is convincing, and those photographs are just too stunning for words. I like that we don’t get to see the photos you would have taken. It does make it more holy and special. The prayer is beautiful. Thank you for sharing your road trip with us!

    Like

Leave a comment