Traveling Home After NCTE & ALAN #SOL23

Sculpture at the SLC airport entrance.

It’s 12:50 a.m. MST, 2:50 a.m. EST, the time zone my body is currently acclimated to, and I have just arrived home from the annual NCTE and ALAN conventions in Columbus, Ohio.

As I awaited in the Columbus airport for my flight to Detroit, and from Detroit to Salt Lake City, I sat near a charging station to juice my phone. On the seat next to me rested a black and white striped duffle bag. Its owner walked over to the vending machines, leaving the duffle, a backpack, and a throw behind.

When she returned ten minutes later, I said, “Excuse me, but you should never leave your bags unattended in an airport.” I explained safety protocol, and she told me she’d never flown before.

Knowing Detroit is a huge airport, and terminal C where Delta lands from Columbus necessitates a hike over to terminal A for connections going west, I asked the girl where she’s headed from Detroit.

Indeed, Alley’s connection to Kansas City had her departing from A55. My connection departed from A66. I offered to help her get to her gate and told Alley I’m a retired teacher. She responded, “I can tell. You’re giving off teacher vibes.”

We chatted a few more minutes. I asked Alley if she has the Delta app and showed her how it gives updates and important information. She told me about TSA taking her pepper spray when she went through security.

After deplaning in Detroit, I awaited Alley. Seeing me she proclaimed, “You waited for me.” I explained that we had a long walk and needed to move quickly. Alley was slow. Her backpack was heavy, and she struggled to handle it and the blanket and the duffle.

I offered to carry the duffle, and off we went. To get to terminal A from C requires going down an escalator, through a tunnel, and up another escalator. Many steps and two more moving walkways later, we arrived at A55. I deposited Alley at the counter so she could get a seat assignment, something she’d neglected to do in Columbus, too, I noticed when she’d shown me her boarding pass.

Tunnel connecting terminals A & C
at the Detroit airport.

I said goodbye. Alley looked ahead at the counter. I’m not sure if she was nervous or sad or ambivalent. I scurried to my gate and arrived just in time for boarding to begin.

Ken picked me up at the airport, and we drove e the two and a half hours home. My NCTE/ALAN report will have to wait until next week. I’m tired! H

owever, I loved meeting Sally and seeing Denise and am full of gratitude for their attendance at my round table.

5 thoughts on “Traveling Home After NCTE & ALAN #SOL23”

  1. Glenda, I so missed seeing everyone at NCTE this year. I know it was a fun learning experience, and I regret missing your roundtable all because I was right here in Georgia. Your story is so kind and helpful. That young girl was blessed by your stepping in to help. She needed you and didn’t even realize it. She didn’t know what she didn’t know. I’m glad you were there to help, and can’t wait to hear more about NCTE.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I saw you from afar, but sadly, we didn’t get to connect. NCTE always leaves me with the feeling that I missed something, or in this case, someone. Your airport story is full of kindness. What a gift you were at the right place at the right time!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a precious story of the airport! You were so kind to help that traveler, and she was so lucky to run into you. How unusual to be brand new to flying; I forget how privileged I am to have flown so frequently. I hope you had a great time at NCTE!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a great small moment from the airport! It’s perfect. I wish I had been able to connect with you and the other slicers at NCTE! Next time I will be more organized and ready for that!

    Like

  5. Oh, my goodness, Glenda, you got home so late. I was later than I wished (10:30 pm PST; 1:30 ET), but yours was even later! Your story about helping Alley was so sweet. You were at the right place at the right time to help her navigate the big airport with change of terminals. Your photo is striking. I’ve never been in the Detroit airport before.

    Like

Leave a comment