Poem? Not a Poem? #SOL24

What makes a children’s picture book poetry? When is a picture book not poetry?

These questions became points of discussion last week during a Zoom meeting of the NCTE Children’s Poetry Awards Committee of which I’m a member.

As we discussed criteria for selecting books to honor, one person said, “I don’t think the chicken book is a poem. It’s just a typical narrative.”

Poems can tell stories,” I responded. “Narrative poetry is a genre of poetry.”

This commenced a friendly debate.

I suggested we define our terms. That is, if we’re going to say a book isn’t poetry because it tells a story we need to come up with a working definition for poetry.

Our chair shared her screen giving NCTE’s criteria for judging children’s poetry.

To support my argument, I observed the chicken book uses poetic language: rhyme, onomatopoeic language, alliteration, and other poetic conventions.

Still unconvinced, my colleague on the committee pushed back, once again saying she just doesn’t think the book is poetry.

Undeterred, I opened my copy of the book and read a couple of pages aloud. Actually, it’s more accurate to say I performed a couple of pages.

“Okay, I’m convinced. Hearing you read, I now see the book is poetry.”

Yes! 🙌

I love winning a debate. 😉

More importantly, the discussion provided an opportunity to comment on the importance of how we read to students. Simply, interpreting literature offers both enjoyment and understanding to learners.

And sometimes performing convinces a colleague.

So when you’re convinced you have nothing to say, be more like Mavis and find a way. For no matter how shy or quiet you be, your words make a difference. Lift your voice and you’ll see.

Screenshot

15 thoughts on “Poem? Not a Poem? #SOL24”

  1. The stars have aligned, Glenda! I love your closing poetic lines and the turn of this whole story. It’s great that you were able to convince your committee members of the poetry on display in that “chicken book.” Also, my own entry today is tagged: poetry, not poetry, so clearly we’re meant to connect today.

    Like

  2. “What is poetry?” is such a great inquiry question. I like that your read aloud performance was enough to convince your colleague. Your last lines are beautiful.

    Like

  3. The importance of performance is weaved so well through this slice. Then when the reader reaches your last two lines, they are ready to perform, too. You are very convincing! Just love these lines: For no matter how shy or quiet you be, your words make a difference. Lift your voice and you’ll see.”

    Like

  4. I see repetition, I see line breaks placed strategically, and most important – – – I feel poetry. Poetry is life. Life is poetry. I love that you live by what you believe – – that you lift your voice and you make a difference and invite others to see something from a different perspective. From what I can see, that book is poetry through and through.

    Like

  5. So interesting… I never worried about this question, over many years of reading books like this aloud, but of course when awarding prizes in categories, you have to! I can just imagine your dramatic, reading with rhythm and gusto, to bring home your argument!

    Like

  6. I served on the committee for the Lee Bennet Hopkins Poetry Award and had the same questions and discussions. We ended up awarding poetry collections and not any picture books, but I see your argument. I appreciate more fully the task of selection. Thanks for your post.

    Like

  7. Ah, Glenda, how sweet this post is. I love that you won the friendly debate in this way. And your last paragraph…”Be more like Mavis…” Now that’s poetry.

    Like

  8. That is a debate worth winning since that book’s message combined with your tenacity amplify the need for more poetry in children’s lives. I’m looking forward to seeing your book in print sometime soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This would be a great debate to put to a classroom of kids. I’d love to hear them wrestle with the question. (And I’d argue that much less poetic sounding picture books are poems, also!)

    Like

  10. I was at a book talk by Jacqueline Woodson years ago and she spoke lovingly of her picture books, saying “these are like writing a poem.” I totally agree with you, poems can tell stories. I know you are enjoying your work on this committee!

    Like

Leave a comment