When Public School Facilities Get No Respect #SOL23

Screenshot

Monday was Earth Day, a time we humans pause to honor our planet.

My Earth Day Poem

Monday was the one-year anniversary of the fire that destroyed a significant part of the school where I taught thirty years.

Highland H.S. April 22, 2023.

Monday was also the first day of the Trump election interference trial, a.k.a. the hush money court drama.

Courtroom sketch of Trump
during jury selection

These events—and one other—have me reflecting on the ways we respect and disrespect

*planet

*people

*places

Sunday as my husband and I were out with Snug and Stanley Tucci for their afternoon run at our local elementary school’s playground, a boy on a dirt bike and his mother showed up. She watched while he raced around the playground and soccer fields. He kicked up a cloud of dirt each time he hit the throttle.

I walked toward the mother and asked,

Is that your child?

She answered, yes.

School District 25 doesn’t allow riding motorized vehicles on school property. They don’t even allow students to ride skateboards on school grounds.

The woman told me she didn’t know this and said she’s been bringing her child to the school to ride because he’s learning.

I explained that doesn’t matter, and she said she’d tell her child to stop.

She did not tell her child to stop.

He continued riding while she walked very slowly toward him as he criss-crossed the playground.

I waited several minutes and then called the police non-emergency line. The dispatch wanted my birth date. I gave it to her but not before saying, My birth date is immaterial. I also volunteered my name, address, and phone number.

By the time a cop returned my call, the boy had disappeared on his dirt bike into the neighborhood.

After requesting a detailed description of the bike, the cop told me there’s nothing the local police can do because it’s private property.

I told him I’m well aware of broken headlight policing and only called because the mother did not address the problem and because the school is a public school, and it behooves all of us to do our part to protect public facilities.

I also emphasized my goal was not to get the kid into trouble but to stress the importance of not trashing the playground and soccer fields.

After realizing the local authorities could not care less about protecting school property, I said, Before calling I told myself it’s an exercise in futility because you wouldn’t give a shit.

After hanging up I told my husband I think the cop knows the kid, which is why he wanted a detailed description of the dirt bike.

I also texted someone I know who works in the district office and included a photo:

When local law enforcement isn’t interested in the vandalizing of public school property, what hope does our fragile planet have?

7 thoughts on “When Public School Facilities Get No Respect #SOL23”

  1. You threaded together seeming different events entirely but masterful brought them together as you reflect on our sad state of affairs. I hope through writing and reflecting, you find some hope. I’m trying to each day but find it harder and harder and it is mostly due to all the disrespect I see in my world. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. Oh, my, Glenda. That image says soooo much. It’s hard to believe that beautiful field would be used for dirt biking and that the police wouldn’t care. I’m glad you spoke up even though it didn’t get any attention yet. Maybe sharing this blog post with authorities or the local paper?

    Like

  3. Wow! Glenda. That’s all I can say. The slice, your emotions and the picture say it all. I live across the street from a school and I’ve seen everything (or so I thought) BUT this takes the proverbial cake. He’s tearing up the grass.

      I agree. Based on officers reaction he probably knew the kid.

     It’s sad. The whole thing. Everything you mentioned. As my father would say, “This country is going to hell in a handbasket!”

     Today, I’m choosing to have hope. As corny as it seems- I’m trying.

    Like

  4. Oh, Glenda. I hear you! I know you’re the one who will stand up and one who will not sit back and watch something you know is wrong take place. Bravo for your efforts. I was curious what kind of response you got from the school. The whole cop exchange is alarming as well as your closing question. Keep being you. Perhaps that’s one way things may change for the betterment of our society and our beloved planet. I adore the way you are able to weave the reader into your stories.

    Like

  5. I was imagining a very young child and a little motorized toy of a bike, for some reason. I should think the school would be very opposed to having their turf torn up by that large motorbike. I am so sorry that the police were so little interested; worse, that the mother didn’t care at all. (This is what her son is learning, to not care.) These are very trying times!

    Like

  6. And these are the very people who will file a lawsuit when their kid gets hurt on a dirt bike on the private property they were trespassing on. I’m glad you took the picture and sent it to the school system. I hope they have either locked their gates or have signs of insurance liability being a NOGO if anyone gets maimed or killed out there while they are damaging the property. I can’t imagine that the district wouldn’t ask for more frequent patrolling once they know this is happening. Great eyes, and great heart to protect public school spaces.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment