Self-Appendectomy #SOLSC24 Day 28/31

Yesterday my friend Barb wrote about things she dislikes doing. Her post struck a chord, especially following two conversations I had Wednesday morning with the medical community.

I dislike having to talk to anyone in the medical community. They often fail to follow through on requests or completely misinterpret the patient. At my March 13 appointment I gave my doctor a chart with What I Said /What he Heard on it based on the PA notes from my November appointment. I’ve also channeled my frustration in poetry.

About those Wednesday calls:

First I had to call Idaho Medical Imaging to schedule an X-ray my doctor ordered March 13. I expected someone from IMI to call me after receiving the order. No one called, so I called them.

I was on hold long enough to hear Your call is important to us at least 666 times before a real person arrived to speak to me.

I stated the reason for my call only to be told I can just walk-in and get the X-ray, that they don’t call to schedule X-rays. I asked: How am I supposed to know that? Every other time I’ve visited IMI for a mammogram and the bone scan I had recently, I needed an appointment.

The helpful [insert sarcasm here] associate told me most doctors they work with know this. I said, Apparently mine didn’t, and I don’t know why someone didn’t call me when you received the order.

The second call came from someone in my doctor’s office. She called to tell me my blood tests from March 13 didn’t show any genetic markers for a biological cause for my chronic hip pain. I said, I know. I looked for that information when I received my blood draw results.

Friends, that was two weeks ago. Still, I’m grateful for the call. Normally there’s no follow up calls after my appointments.

The nurse/tech/associate asked if I she could help me with anything else, so I asked if she could follow through on a January 19 request I made to call my insurance company and tell them my femme ring prescription is necessary so I’ll pay $180 every 90 days instead of over $450.

I explained that I’d put this request in the letter I gave to my doctor March 13 and still don’t know if anyone has followed up on it. I added, I feel as though trying to get someone in your office to call and authorize the femme ring is like performing an appendectomy on myself.

She did say she’s sorry about that but isn’t the person who takes care of prescription needs. She said she’d send a note over and make it a priority and have the responsible person call me when it’s done.

I am still awaiting that call. Where’s my scalpel?

11 thoughts on “Self-Appendectomy #SOLSC24 Day 28/31”

  1. Oh, I’m feeling your pain right now as I’m navigating so many appointments and tests and billing and insurance things related to my cancer diagnosis and surgeries. Why can’t they just make it easy? It’s beyond me. Your last line made me laugh…I hope you don’t have to call them back!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glenda, you capture the frustration of medical and insurance issues so succinctly, right down to using 666 as the number of times hearing the recording. I’d almost rather do taxes an extra time a year than deal with medical issues and sorting out the paperwork and follow up. The self-advocacy it takes these days is so different from that of my parents’ generation, and it’s really hard to convince a man of his age that he might have to be more proactive. He still believes the phone call will come and that someone is busy handling his situation. We’ve come a long way….in the wrong direction.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel your pain, literally. I won’t go into all the gory details of my summer from hell, but I went to emergency room 5 times and only once did my actual doctor look inside me to find the actual problem. I googled my blood work myself to find out I had an infection. They said I had a virus. I was hoping this brokenness was only in my small area of the world, but it’s rampant. We need to demand better health care!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Margaret, what you’ve described is the embodiment of hell. I had my gallbladder removed around seven years ago, but before that I ended up in the emergency room and the hospital because the *doctor* in the emergency room decided I needed my heart checked. It was such a waste of money resulting in my suffering for several more years—for a gallbladder no one thought to check. Unreal.

      Like

  4. Glenda, while our health care system in Canada is funded differently (for now) than the US, the frustration over what is said and how this is followed is the same here! In fact, I noticed that I’ve developed a significant reluctance to engage with my family physician since she does not provide information in a way that honours my ability to process intellectually. And, the way you wrote this post is interesting – the line that struck me was this simile: “I added, I feel as though trying to get someone in your office to call and authorize the femme ring is like performing an appendectomy on myself.” Bahahaha! I wonder if she was laughing inside or if she’ll reflect on this later. (Maybe they recorded it because your “message is important to us”. Here’s to hoping your health is good and you get the information that you need and deserve!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glenda, your post is making my head hurt. I feel angry for you. Indeed, where is the scalpel is the perfect question. Wow, I know our health systems around here are not good, but I think you’re dealing with something far worse. I sure hope you get the necessary help pronto. I know you’re not looking for advice here, but I’d be a huge squeaky wheel from here on out. Somebody’s head should be rolling.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, Glenda, you always make me smile with the sarcasm and rich descriptions of the frustrations you deal with. I hope you find some relief in writing slices about the hassles, like you do when you channel your frustrations into “I said/He said” lists and poems. I love the analogy of the self-inflicted appendectomy. I hope all can go better for you with this thing you don’t like!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I can totally relate to your woes here. This is healthcare today, everywhere in the U.S., I think. Put your scalpel down (no risky appendectomies, please) and add some fun music to your background noise, as you wait through these painful phone calls. We must advocate for better healthcare.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wow – I found the comments here as frustrating as the post itself. Apparently I’ve hit the medical jackpot: my doctor regularly calls to follow-up and is very good about communicating with me as someone who understands what she’s saying. I wonder if perhaps I’m benefitting from having family members who are physicians? I will say that I am very no nonsense about stating what I expect – but you are, too! Anyway, reading this made me seethe. We should not have to fight for reasonable health care!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I have been there so many times. My last round was just to get antibiotics that I knew I needed. Yep I know there is fluid in both ears I can feel is and I am not hearing well. Dud!! We do need a change in how medical world works. I love how you expressed this problem but sorry you had to deal with it. Good Luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment