Face 2 Face #SOL24

Screenshot

At 1:34 a.m. I flipped the light switch off and began tapping out this post on my phone so I’d not disturb my sleeping husband who moments ago I felt shift on his side of our bed.

I paused writing to raise the top of my side of the bed, a gesture that makes my single-finger tying easier.

I’m up late tonight/this morning because I spent five hours and forty-five minutes in face 2 face conversation with *my favorite student I never had in class* who came for a visit. He left at 12:45 a.m.

We’d planned to sit out by a fire and visit but pivoted to my *social distancing vouch* in the living room because it’s cold here in Idaho. Today’s/yesterday’s high was 55, and a fierce wind has bee’s blowing since mid-morning.

For much of the visit, Snug and Stanley remained close, but like Ken, they ticketed and headed to bed while Jake and I visited.

Our topics of conversation ran the gamut. We talked about

  • student loan forgiveness
  • Gaza
  • the Tony Awards
  • moving to a warmer climate
  • Jake’s teachers
  • New York
  • Biden and Trump
  • Vietnam’s transformation from war zone to tourist destination
  • Carbs
  • Writing and AI
  • substitute teaching
  • social media
  • cell phones in schools

And this is only a partial list.

During our conversation about cell phones I told Jake about Jonathan Haidt’s new book The Anxious Generation.

I reminded Jake he and I met and developed a friendship through in-person conversations after school before chrome books and google classroom usurped student-teacher interactions.

We might still be conversing at 2:05 am had Jake not taken a potty break and had I not stood up during his absence to signal we’d reached the bewitching hour, aka geezer bedtime.

We said our goodbyes at 12:45 and vowed to hang out again soon.

As he left, Hake complemented our yard, which took a beating from a hail storm a few days ago, but nature is still serving up some lovely summer blooms, both the flowering and friendship kinds.

10 thoughts on “Face 2 Face #SOL24”

  1. What a night you had with all of those topics of convo! No wonder you couldn’t sleep.

    Haight’s book truly meets the moment we are living in. I hope it brings about much needed change so we can return to more f2f conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that you took time to make a list of ALL the topics discussed! So powerful to reflect on in person conversations. Since meeting you in person in Ohio at NCTE, I feel I read your blog better, having met you in person (if that makes any sense!) Thanks for the book recommendation, too! It seems our Surgeon General is speaking up, too. Yesterday’s news was about how he was suggesting warning labels be placed on social media to prevent mental health issues.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glenda, you’re that kind of teacher every student needs – the caring person whose influence and respect shapes lives in positive directions. I love the book recommendation and the list of things discussed and – believe it or not – I love the idea of sitting in 55 degree temperatures because the Georgia temperatures are starting to cook people down here. And it’s only June. We have too much heat and y’all have too much cold. Next week starts my full summer, so I will be enjoying it as best I can, even if it’s mostly indoors.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are very lucky to have this friendship! My husband has this kind of relationship with some of his former students (now in their 40s and 50s!). Facebook has made it possible for me to keep up with a few of my former students. I love seeing how they have evolved in unexpected ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah, what a beautiful retelling of your time with Jake. I love how you stood up while he was in the bathroom, “geezer bedtime” Indeed, it would have had to have been much earlier for me. What a list of topics! That was so awesome. I am so saddened by the title of that book, and glad for Jake that he spent those hours in more face-to-face conversations with you. I pray all the young people will have someone to do that with. Is there any good news in the book by Haidt?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I ordered the book. It arrived today. Now, I’ll read it and take it up to my daughter and son-in-law in August.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Glenda, we are using the anxious book for an AAUW meeting. Your post shows how rich conversations can be! It’s great to have a friend to converse with on a wide variety of topics:) Glad your flower survived!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What a wonderful late night conversation! I love the details of this slice – from the telling of how you are writing it, to the standing up while he went to the bathroom. A small moment telling rich with details!

    Like

  8. I love a conversation that keeps me up late – and with a former *not quite* student! It must have been wonderful. I am now thinking about the last time a student I’ve never taught felt like a student of mine & I’m wondering how much cell phones have changed this. Hmm… maybe add that to the conversation list!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment